Skip Navigation

Esprit Orchestra presents: Circle Maps

Esprit Orchestra presents: Circle Maps
Esprit Orchestra presents Circle Maps photo
November 30, 2023 | 8:00 PM
  • Starting at: $25.00
  • Venue: Koerner Hall
  • Genre: New Music, Orchestra
  • Presenter: Esprit Orchestra
Traversing rich and varied musical landscapes, this concert laments the dramatic ecological loss of bees and the associated acoustic loss (referencing its musical predecessor Rimsky-Korsakov’s Flight of the Bumblebee), presents a tapestry of a thousand flowers in the constantly shimmering gestures of Martinaityte’s sonic garden, and delivers harp virtuosity in our Music Director’s harp concerto, specially written for Erica Goodman. Silvestrov’s Postludium, rippling with nostalgia and swirling memories, belies Vladimir Putin’s contention that Ukraine doesn’t exist as a country with its own cultural identity. In memoriam, we honour the late Kaija Saariaho performing her fabulous musical voyage through evocative sound worlds guided by texts of the great Persian poet Rumi.

Alex Pauk, Conductor
Erica Goodman, Harp
Kevin Ahfat, Piano
Vito Žuraj (Slovenia): Api-danza macabra * (2021), “Bee Dance of Death”                 
Žibuoklė Martinaitytė (Lithuania): Millefleur ** (2018)
Alex Pauk (Canada): Concerto for Harp & Orchestra (2005)
Originally commissioned by Erica Goodman with the support of the Ontario Arts Council
I. Floating World
II. Riffs
III. Cadenza
IV. Embrace
V. Salsalito
Valentin Silvestrov (Ukraine): Postludium (1984), Symphonic Poem for Piano & Orchestra
Kaija Saariaho (Finland): Circle Map ** (2012), for orchestra and electronics
I. Morning Wind
II. Walls Closing                  
III. Circles
IV. Days are Sieves
V. Dialogue
VI. Day and Night, Music
*North American Premiere
**Canadian Premiere

7:15PM Pre-concert talk with Alexina Louie