Skip Navigation


Isabelle Faust Alexander Melnikov and Jean Guihen Queyras photo
February 10, 2024 | 8:00 PM
  • Starting at: $40.00
  • Venue: Koerner Hall
  • Series: Chamber Music Concerts
  • Genre: Chamber, Classical, Piano, String
  • Presenter: The Royal Conservatory

Violinist Isabelle Faust, cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras, and pianist Alexander Melnikov take us on a fascinating journey through a thrilling repertory of piano trio ‘hits,’- including the “Ghost” and “Dumky” ‘hits’ by Beethoven, Brahms, and Elliott Carter.

Having founded a string quartet at the age of 11, Isabelle Faust captivates her audience with her compelling interpretations. She dives deep into every piece considering the musical historical context, historically appropriate instruments, and the greatest possible authenticity according to a contemporary state of knowledge. After winning the renowned Leopold Mozart Competition and the Paganini Competition at a very young age, she soon gave regular performances with the world’s major orchestras including the Berlin Philharmonic, Boston Symphony Orchestra, NHK Symphony Orchestra Tokyo, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Les Siècles, and the Baroque Orchestra Freiburg.

Known for his often unusual musical and programmatic decisions, Alexander Melnikov developed his career-long interest in historically informed performance practice early on. He performs regularly with distinguished period ensembles including the Freiburger Barockorchester, Musica Aeterna, and Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin.

Canadian-born cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras’s versatility in his music making has led to many concert halls, festivals, and orchestras inviting him to be artist in residence, including the Concertgebouw Amsterdam and the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, Vredenburg Utrecht, De Bijloke Ghent, the Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg, and Wigmore Hall London. He makes his long-awaited Koerner Hall debut with this concert.

Robert Schumann: Piano Trio No. 2 in F Major, op. 80       
Elliott Carter: Epigrams for violin, cello, and piano
Johannes Brahms: Piano Trio No. 1 in B Major, op. 8 (1889 version)

Choose any 4 or more concerts in the 2023.24 Concert Season to create your ideal subscription. You will get the best available seats PLUS discounted ticket prices AND enjoy Royal Subscriber benefits!