Skip Navigation

TSM Presents Miró Quartet

TSM Presents Miró Quartet
TSM Presents Miró Quartet photo
July 14, 2023 | 7:30 PM
  • Starting at: $20.00
  • Venue: Walter Hall
  • Genre: Chamber, Classical, String
  • Presenter: Toronto Summer Music Festival

Festival passes are available to purchase beginning March 7th at 10 am, by calling the Weston Family Box office at 416.408.0208, or in person at 273 Bloor St. W.

Single tickets are available to purchase online beginning March 21st at 10am

Miró Quartet 
Daniel Ching, violin 
William Fedkenheuer, violin 
John Largess, viola 
Joshua Gindele, cello 

Joseph Haydn: Quartet No. 50 in B-flat Major, Op. 64, No. 3 
George Walker: Lyric for Strings 
Kevin Puts: Home for String Quartet 
Johann Sebastian Brahms: String Quartet No. 1 in C minor, Op. 51

Two superlative pieces from the traditional string quartet repertoire by Haydn and Brahms bookend two exquisite examples of the medium by contemporary Pulitzer Prize-winning American composers.  

Haydn’s String Quartet No. 50 in B-flat Major brings a combination of his extraverted brilliance, while also demonstrating the innovative curiosity which is hallmark for this period of his compositional career. Lyric for Strings by African-American composer George Walker (1922-2018) was originally drawn from his first String Quartet. In its new form, it became one of Walker’s most popular works. Rooted firmly in the classical tradition, its melodies are both haunting and hopeful, reflective of its original name, Lament. Meanwhile, Home was written especially for the Miró Quartet and is a musical representation of the journey of refugees, from the walking pace to the trials endured. The program culminates with Brahms’s highly unified and harmonically sophisticated String Quartet in C minor, contrasting the dramatic and intimate in a cohesive masterwork.  

The Miró Quartet’s approach is “animated and imaginative, often keenly driven though nearly always dispatched with a light touch” (Gramophone), making this recital not only deeply satisfying but also a compelling mini-history of the chamber music medium.