Skip Navigation

Karina Gauvin with the Pacific Baroque Orchestra

Karina Gauvin with the Pacific Baroque Orchestra
Karina Gauvin with the Pacifica Baroque Orchestra Photo
November 01, 2019 | 8:00 PM
  • Starting at: $40.00
  • Venue: Koerner Hall
  • Series: Power Corporation of Canada Vocal Concerts
  • Genre: Chamber, Classical, Vocal
  • Presenter: The Royal Conservatory

One of the world’s reigning sopranos in Baroque and Classical repertoire, Karina Gauvin, and Vancouver’s exciting and innovative specialists in performing “early music for modern ears,” bring you a concert entitled “Russian White Nights: Opera arias from 18th century St. Petersburg.”

At the turn of the 18th century, Peter the Great began to drag Russia, often kicking and screaming, toward the rest of Europe. His new capital, St. Petersburg, was to be a window to the West, and to that end, Peter imported Germans, Czechs, Italians, and other nationalities in his quest to modernize his native land. He and his successors, especially Anna Ivanovna, Elizabeth, and Catherine the Great, saw the opera house as an opportunity to show off their cultural wealth as a modern European nation.

“Karina Gauvin has proved herself one of the most delightful of Baroque sopranos. Her pellucid tone is now flecked with deeper, richer colourings, and precise, nimble coloratura.” (Gramophone)

Karina Gauvin, soprano
Alexander Weimann, Music Director
Pacific Baroque Orchestra


Yevstegniy Ipatievich Fomin: Overture from The Coachmen

Dmitri Stepanovich Bortniansky: “Mi sorprende” from Alcide

Dmitri Stepanovich Bortniansky: from Alcide
               “Ballo di Geni”
               “In qual mar”
               “Dei clementi”

Dmitri Stepanovich Bortniansky: from Le Faucon
               Ouverture (Allegro spiritoso)
               “Ne me parlez”
               “Pour toi l’amour”’

Domenico dall’Oglio: Sinfonia from Cossaca
               I.          Allegro
               II.         Andante
               III.        Presto

Francesco Araja: from La forza dell’amore
               “Colle procelle”
                Sinfonia (Andante ma non presto)
                Aria “Amico Tiranno”
                Sinfonia (Allegro)
               “Scherza la pastorella”

Maxim Sozontovich Berezovsky: from Demofoonte
               “Mentre il cor”
                Violin sonata in C Major (Grave)
               “Misero pargoletto”



Choose any 4 or more concerts in the 2019.20 concert season to create your ideal subscription. You will get the best available seats PLUS discounted ticket prices AND enjoy Royal Subscriber benefits!