Skip Navigation

Angela Hewitt awarded the Wigmore Medal

Angela Hewitt awarded the Wigmore Medal

Published on July 2, 2020

Renowned pianist and RCM alumna Angela Hewitt has been awarded the Wigmore Medal.

Inaugurated in 2007, the prestigious prize recognizes major international artists and significant figures in the classical music world who have a strong association with the United Kingdom’s famous Wigmore Hall. Hewitt has given more than 80 performances at the hall since her debut in 1985. She was honoured with the prize after a Special Broadcast Recital on June 25.

"I feel deeply honoured to join the distinguished list of previous Wigmore Medal winners,” Hewitt said. Thank you all for your friendship and support, which means the world to me.”
It is with great pleasure that I congratulate Angela Hewitt on receiving the Wigmore Hall Medal. This Medal is awarded in recognition of her outstanding career, as well as her contribution to Wigmore Hall. My warmest congratulations on receiving this honour and I look forward to many more spectacular performances on the Wigmore Hall stage in the future.
Prince Edward, HRH The Duke of Kent and Royal Patron of Wigmore Hall

Angela Hewitt

Past recipients of the award include Christian Gerhaher, Steven Isserlis, Dame Felicity Lott, Thomas Quasthoff, Menahem Pressler, Sir András Schiff and the Takács String Quartet.