Skip Navigation

Brentano String Quartet with Jonathan Biss, piano, and Joseph Conyers, bass

Brentano String Quartet with Jonathan Biss, piano, and Joseph Conyers, bass
Brentano String Quartet with Jonathan Biss and Joseph Conyers photo
May 10, 2024 | 8:00 PM
  • Starting at: $45.00
  • Venue: Koerner Hall
  • Series: Chamber Music Concerts
  • Genre: Chamber, Classical, Piano, String
  • Presenter: The Royal Conservatory

The critically acclaimed Brentano String Quartet perform Schubert’s “Trout Quintet” with virtuoso pianist Jonathan Biss and award-winning double bassist Joseph Conyers.

Since its inception in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim. Described as “passionate, uninhibited and spellbinding” (The Independent), the Quartet has performed across five continents in the world’s most prestigious venues, including Carnegie Hall, the Library of Congress in Washington, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Konzerthaus in Vienna, Tokyo’s Suntory Hall, and the Sydney Opera House. They make their Koerner Hall debut this season. “The Brentanos are a magnificent string quartet …This was wonderful, selfless music-making.” (The Times)

World-renowned pianist Jonathan Biss channels his deep musical curiosity into performances and projects in the concert hall and beyond. In addition to performing with today’s leading orchestras, he continues to expand his reputation as a teacher, musical thinker, and one of the great Beethoven interpreters of our time. “His reputation as an eloquent interpreter with a powerful technique ... has established him as one of his generation’s most serious musical thinkers.” (The New York Times)

Described by the Grand Rapids Press as “a lyrical musician who plays with authenticity that transcends mere technique,” Joseph Conyers has performed with numerous orchestras as soloist, including the Alabama, Flagstaff, and Richmond symphonies, the Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia, and the Sphinx Symphony. He was appointed assistant principal bassist of the Philadelphia Orchestra in 2010 and won the job of Principal Bass in May 2023. Conyers joined the Philadelphia Orchestra after tenures with the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Grand Rapids Symphony, where he served as principal bass, and Santa Fe Opera.

Program to include:
Franz Schubert: Piano Quintet in A Major, D. 667, op. posth. 114 (“The Trout”)
Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 13 in B flat Major, op. 130

Choose any 4 or more concerts in the 2023.24 Concert Season to create your ideal subscription. You will get the best available seats PLUS discounted ticket prices AND enjoy Royal Subscriber benefits!