Skip Navigation

Daniel Hope: Irish Roots

Daniel Hope: Irish Roots
Daniel Hope photo
April 24, 2024 | 8:00 PM
  • Starting at: $55.00
  • Venue: Koerner Hall
  • Series: String Concerts
  • Genre: Classical, String
  • Presenter: The Royal Conservatory
“The most exciting British string player since Jacqueline du Pré” (The Observer), Koerner Hall favourite Hope returns with his ensemble to explore the rich world of Irish music.

Hope has toured the world as a virtuoso soloist for 25 years and is celebrated for his musical versatility as well as his dedication to humanitarian causes. Winner of the 2015 European Cultural Prize for Music, he appears as soloist with the world’s major orchestras and conductors. In addition, he gives a dizzying array of solo recitals, chamber concerts, and directs many ensembles from the violin. He succeeded Roger Norrington as Music Director of the Zurich Chamber Orchestra in 2016 and is also Music Director of San Francisco’s New Century Chamber Orchestra since 2018.

“This violinist, now among the best in the world as well as the most thoughtful, is as brilliant at Bach as Birtwistle.” (The Observer)
Irish Traditionals
          “Seán Frank”
          “Fair and Forty”
         “The One-Horned Cow”
         “Patsy Jouhey’s”
          “Killavil Jig” 
Thomas Roseingrave: Introduction to Scarlatti’s Lessons (arr. Olivier Fourès)
Thomas Roseingrave: Gavotte from Fifth Set (arr. Fourès)
Henry Purcell: A New Irish Tune, Z. 646
Domenico Scarlatti: Sonata in B Minor, K. 27 (arr. Fourès)
Domenico Scarlatti: Sonata in D Minor, K. 141 (arr. Fourès)
Johann Sigismund Kusser: Arias from Erindo oder Die unsträfliche Liebe (arr. Fourès)
Francesco Geminiani: Auld Bob Morrice
James Oswald: “She’s Sweetest When She is Naked”
James Oswald: “Scotsman Over the Border”
James Oswald: “Murray’s March”
Irish Traditional: “The Minor Bee”
Antonio Vivaldi: Allegro from L’estro armónico, op. 3, Concerto No. 5
Antonio Vivaldi: Prelude from Trio Sonata in D Major, op. 1, no. 8, RV 64
Antonio Vivaldi: Allegro from Violin Concerto in B Minor, RV 387 (“Slip Jig”)
Turlough O’Carolan: “O’Carolan’s Devotion”
Turlough O’Carolan: “O’Carolan’s Concerto”
Irish Traditionals
“Codladh an Óighir” (arr. Siobhán Armstrong)
“The Waterford Walz”
“The Red Haired Boy”
“Coey’s Hornpipe”
“Pingneacha Rúa agus Prás”
“Dublin Streets”
“Dever the Dancer”
“Connaughtman’s Ramble”
“The Humors of Castel Bernard”


Choose any 4 or more concerts in the 2023.24 Concert Season to create your ideal subscription. You will get the best available seats PLUS discounted ticket prices AND enjoy Royal Subscriber benefits!