Daniel Hope and Friends: AIR - A Baroque Journey

Daniel Hope and Friends: AIR - A Baroque Journey
November 03, 2018
Starting at
Classical Concerts
The Royal Conservatory
Royal Subscription Event
Royal Subscript Event
Rush Program
Rush Program Icon
Group Sales
Group Sales Icon
Support Person
Hotel and Dining
Hotel and Dining
Low Ticket Number

Presented By

Season sponsor:

Season media sponsor:
 Image result for toronto star logo

Concert media sponsor:
Classical 96

British violinist Daniel Hope returns to Koerner Hall with an outrageous romp through the baroque with a dazzling ensemble of virtuosi wandering minstrels. Hope is “among the best in the world as well as the most thoughtful, is as brilliant at Bach as Birtwistle” (The Observer). While the origins of the violin can be traced back thousands of years to Mongolia and India, it was the Italians, and most importantly Andrea Amati in the mid-sixteenth century, to whom we can almost certainly attribute the creation of the violin in its modern form. Arguably its greatest development was during the Baroque Era as violinists and composers went on a journey seeking more extravagant and original ways in which to express themselves on this fascinating new instrument. AIR sets out to trace one such Baroque journey. The program blends the simplest and at times most primitive forms of dance music with the most sophisticated and revolutionary compositions of the day.

Daniel Hope, violin
Simos Papanas, violin
Nicola Mosca, cello
Emanuele Forni, luthe
Naoki Kitaya, cembalo
Michael Metzler, percussion

Diego Ortiz: Ricercata segunda
George Frideric Handel: Sarabande, HWV 437 (arr. Olivier Fourés)
Andrea Falconieri: La suave melodia
Johann Paul von Westhoff: Imitazione delle campane
Nicola Matteis: Diverse bizzarrie sopra la Veccia Sarabanda ò pur Ciaccona
Antonio Vivaldi: Trio Sonata in D Minor, op. 1, No. 12, RV 63 (“La folia”)
Andrea Falconieri: Passacaglia à 3
Johann Paul von Westhoff: La guerra così nominata di sua maestà
Traditional: Greensleeves
Jean-Marie Leclair: Le tambourin
Marco Uccelini: Aria sopra la Bergamasca
Nicola Matteis: Ground After the Scotch Humour 
Johann Paul von Westhoff: Imitazione del liuto
Andrea Falconieri: Ciaccona

Program notes


Choose any 4 or more concerts from any series to create your ideal subscription. You will get the best available seats PLUS discounted ticket prices AND enjoy Royal Subscriber benefits!